Daniel Dubois Feels He Was Robbed In Usyk Fight
In his most recent fight, unified heavyweight champion Oleksandr Usyk (21-0, 14 KO’s) made the second defense of his titles. Yet, there is great chatter within boxing circles saying that this was an unjust occurrence. This is because many feel that former Regular WBA heavyweight champion “Dynamite” Daniel Dubois (19-2, 18 KO’s) should have been awarded a knockout victory.
The controversy stems from a fifth-round knockdown instigated by Dubois. After hammering the Ukrainian to the belly, Usyk dropped to the canvas and remained there for several minutes. Initially, referee Luis Pabon didn’t indicate that it was a low blow but he did so after Usyk essentially told him it was low. Replays would reveal that the punch appeared to land cleanly on the belly. As only one could imagine, Dynamite pleaded his case in the post-fight interview.
“No, I didn’t think it was a low blow! I thought that landed and I have been cheated out of a victory tonight! ”
LET’S DO IT AGAIN?!
While he did state his case in the aftermath, Dubois did not protest or act like he had a problem with the ref or call in real-time. It will be interesting to see if Usyk runs it back with Dubois. Smart money says that this rematch will not happen for two significant reasons. The first being that Usyk did legitimately dominate the majority of the fight with his boxing skills. The second reason would be Dynamite’s body attack.
Throughout the second half of the match, Dubois was able to hurt and bother the unified champion to the body several times. Unfortunately for him however, the crucial call did not go his way. Even worse, Dubious will walk away being pelted with accusations that he is a quitter. This is because many felt that he could have beat the final count but allowed himself to be counted out. Given the end of this showdown, it will be interesting to see how both fighters rebound.