Today In Boxing History: January 10th

January 10th 

1939: Henry Armstrong W 10 Baby Arizmendi, Los Angeles. Retains world welterweight title. Referee: George Blake.  The 5th fight between these two; Hank breaks the tie, winning his 3rd straight against Arizmendi.

1949: (Big) George Foreman born.

1966: Kennedy McKinney born.

1973: Felix (Tito) Trinidad born.

1987: Patrizio Oliva W 15 Gato Gonzalez, Agrigento, Italy. Retains WBA super-lightweight title.

1992: Iran Barkley KO 2 Darrin Van Horn, NYC. Wins IBF super-middleweight title.

1993: Freddie Pendleton W 12 Tracy Spann, Atlantic City. Wins vacant IBF lightweight title.

1999: In-Joo Cho W 12 Joel Luna Zarate, Seoul. Retains WBC Super flyweight Title.

2007:WBA/WBC Super Middleweight champion Mikkel Kessler becomes the first boxer in Danish history to win the nation’s two top sports prizes, being selected as Athlete of the Year by the newspaper Jyllands Posten and also winning the B.T. Gold award.

2008: Hozumi W 12 Simone Maludrottu, Osaka, Japan. Retains WBC Bantamweight Title.

Wladimir Sidorenko W 12 Nobuto Ikehara, Osaka, Japan. Retains WBA Bantamweight Title. Referee: Rafael Ramos | judge: Michael Lee 119-110 | judge: Sergio Caiz 118-110 | judge: Erkki Meronen 116-112.

By: Aaron Cooper 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply