Today In Boxing History: January 9th

January 9th 

1900: (Terrible) Terry McGovern KO 9 George Dixon, NYC. Wins World Featherweight Title. Dixon’s corner threw in the sponge. McGovern becomes the undisputed champion. National Police Gazette.

1917: Pete Herman W 20 Kid Williams, New Orleans. Wins world bantamweight title. Referee: Billy Rocap

1923: Lou Bogash KO 11 Charley Nashert, NYC. Wins vacant NY. World middleweight title.

1942: Joe Louis KO 1 Buddy Baer (Max’s younger, but considerably larger (250lbs.) brother), NYC. Retains world heavyweight title. Baer down 3 times.

1973: Koichi Wajima Draw 15 Miguel De Oliveira, Tokyo. Retains world super-welterweight title.

1979: Eusebio Pedroza KO 14 Royal Kobayashi, Tokyo. Retains WBA featherweight title.

1999: Roy Jones Jr. KO 2 Rick Frazier, Pensacola, Fla. Retains world light-heavyweight title.

Sugar Shane Mosley KO 7 Golden Johnson, Pensacola, Fl.

2000: The WBC strips Featherweight Champion Naseem Hamed of his title for refusing to relinquish the WBO Featherweight Title.

2006: Eagle Kyowa KO 9 Ken Nakajima, Yokohama, Japan. Retains WBC Minimumweight Title

By: Aaron Cooper 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.