IBHOF 2018 Class Announced

Picture courtesy of the IBHOF

2018 Class Of First Ballot’s 


The International Boxing Hall of Fame released the names of the class of 2018. In a year of some notable first ballot names it was 3 that got in. The Ukraine’s Vitali Klitschko, American Ronald ‘Winky’ Wright and Mexican legend Erik Morales were announced as the inductees for 2018. The ceremonies are set to take place June 7th through the 10th of next year. Others just missing out included former UK star Ricky Hatton.

Klitschko is a three-time world heavyweight champion, the second longest reigning WBC heavyweight champion of all time, has the third longest combined world championship reign in history and the 5th longest combined title streak in modern boxing history at 15 title bouts. He held the WBO title from 1999 to 2000; the Ring magazine title from 2004 to 2005; and the WBC title twice, from 2004 to 2005 and from 2008 to 2013.

Wright, who competed from 1990 to 2012. He is a two-time junior middleweight world champion and remains the last to hold the undisputed title at that weight. In his later career he also challenged for a unified middleweight world title. Wright’s most notable wins came against fellow HOF’er Felix Trinidad and future inductee Shane Mosley.

Morales, who competed from 1993 to 2012. He is the first Mexican-born boxer in history to win world titles in four different weight classes, having held the WBC super bantamweight title from 1997 to 2000; the WBC featherweight twice between 2001 and 2003; the unified WBC and IBF super featherweight titles in 2004; and the WBC super lightweight title from 2011 to 2012. Morales defeated fifteen world champions during the course of his career, and is famous for his trilogies with fellow Mexican legend Marco Antonio Barrera, as well as Manny Pacquiao. 

By: Chris Henderson

Follow Chris on Twitter @4CornersBoxin

Email: Chris@3KingsBoxing.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply