Oosthuizen – Mchunu Rematch in Talks

Oosthuizen may need to second his performance the first time around.


3kingsboxing has learned there is a possibility Thomas Oosthuizen (28-1-2, 16 KOs) may rematch Thabiso Mchunu (19-4, 12 KOs).

In their first fight, Oosthuizen defeated Mchunu for the African Boxing Union cruiserweight title by majority decision. He pulled this off in a comeback match after being inactive for 16 months.

This close fight was pretty much a tale of two halves, which is why many fans felt Mchunu did enough to win.

Iin the early part of the fight, Oosthuizen used his height and reach advantage to keep the challenger at distance.

Mchunu kept the pressure on early. Therein, he had some success landing counters, lead left hand shots; especially towards the second half of the bout.

There were moments, particularly in the championship rounds, where Oosthuizen kept his hands low; appearing tired and leaving himself open for straight left-hand shots by Mchunu.

After hearing the judges scorecards, the crowd delivered a mixed reaction. Two saw it 115-113 and one scored 114-114, naming Oosthuizen the winner.

It’s worth noting that the winner of this contest was looking to make a fight with fellow South African and IBF #4 rated boxer Kevin Lerena.

The big question going into the first fight was to whether Thomas could put all the bad habits from his past behind him.

If a rematch is made, the question will be “can he improve on conditioning?” Mchunu, no doubt, will look to be more aggressive and less to just land one big shot.

Golden Gloves Promotion is targeting to host the rematch; returning to Emperors Place, Kempton Park on December 8th.

By: Garrisson Bland

Like, Follow, Share
About Garrisson Bland 209 Articles
Garrisson Bland - Head of Public Relations/Senior Journalist. Garrisson is the Head of Public relations for 3kingsboxing.com as well as a senior writer. He is also the host of YouTube boxing show "Truth And Facts Sports Talk."

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*